Back-To-Back National Champion!

Back-To-Back National Champion!

CANTON, N.Y. (5/23/15)—Concordia senior Cherae Reeves proved her national indoor championship in the shot put was no fluke. Reeves  broke her own school record on the way to capturing the national title in the shot put at the NCAA National Outdoor Meet held at St. Lawrence University in Canton, N.Y.

Reeves becomes only the fifth student/athlete in school history to win multiple individual NCAA national championships. She joins Phil Moenkedick (wrestling 2010, 2011), Renee Erickson (track and field 1994, 1995, 1996), Aaron Banks (track and field 1995 – indoor and outdoor) and Kris Kuehl (track and field 1990, 1991, 1992) as the only individuals with more than one NCAA title.

Reeves earned her second national championship on the second attempt of the finals – her fifth overall toss of the day. She entered the finals in second place with a prelim mark of 47-02.25. That distance was her best of this year's spring season.

Reeves then fouled on her first attempt of the finals round before unleashing a distance of 49-03.50 on her second attempt. That mark broke her own school record of 48-10.25 which she set in 2014. Her distance in the second attempt of the finals vaulted her ahead of Jecel Klotz from Wis.-Oshkosh who entered the finals in the lead with a distance of 48-10.00.

Reeves' first-place finish in the shot put gave the Cobbers a total of 13 team points for the NCAA Meet. Concordia wound up placing 19th in the team competition which marks the third straight year that Concordia has finished in the top 26 of the nation.

Concordia Individual NCAA National Champions
2015 - Cherae Reeves - Outdoor Track & Field
2015 – Cherae Reeves – Indoor Track and Field

2011 – Phil Moenkedick – Wrestling
2010 – Phil Moenkedick – Wrestling
2006 – Annie Cullen - Diving  
1996 – Renee Erickson – Outdoor Track and Field
1996 – Aaron Banks – Indoor Track and Field
1995 – Renee Erickson – Outdoor Track and Field
1995 – Aaron Banks – Outdoor Track and Field
1995 – Aaron Banks – Indoor Track and Field    
1994 – Renee Erickson – Outdoor Track and Field            
1992 – Kris Kuehl – Outdoor Track and Field
1991 – Kris Kuehl – Outdoor Track and Field
1990 – Kris Kuehl – Outdoor Track and Field
1978 – Barry Bennett – Wrestling