Back-To-Back Sends Unbeaten Streak To 5

Sophomore Nate Weaver scored his ninth goal of the season against Simpson which is tied for 10th most in a single season in program history.
Sophomore Nate Weaver scored his ninth goal of the season against Simpson which is tied for 10th most in a single season in program history.

INDIANOLA, Iowa (10/13/19)---Concordia scored a pair of goals in a span of 56-seconds in the second half and tied regionally-ranked Simpson 2-2 in double overtime in Indianola.

The tie helps the Cobbers remain unbeaten in their last five games. CC hasn't lost in the month of October and is now 8-3-2 overall. Simpson, who entered the game ranked 10th in the latest USC North region rankings, has their 10-game win streak come to an end and is now 13-1-1.

The tie also completes an unbeaten non-conference schedule for the Cobbers in 2019. Concordia went 6-0-2 in their eight games against non-MIAC opponents.  

The scoring scenarios for each team played out in identical fashion. Both teams scored both of their goals in less than a minute and both teams netted those 2-goal outputs in the final 10 minutes of a half.

Simpson broke open a chanceless first half when they scored the opening goal of the game at the 43:52 mark and then doubled the lead 50-seconds later at 44:42.

The game would stay at 2-0 in favor of the Storm until the final seven minutes of regulation. That's when the red-hot scoring duo of Nate Weaver and Sam Gess leveled the game with two goals in 56 seconds. Weaver got the Cobbers within one goal when he scored his ninth goal of the year at 83:15. Freshman Matthew Nemer served the ball to Weaver to record his fourth assist of the season.

Weaver's nine goals on the year moves him into the Top 10 on the list of all-time single season goal scorers in program history.   

Weaver then set up Concordia's top scorer to equalize less than a minute later. Concordia was able to get possession of the ball and Weaver found Gess who buried his 14th nugget of the year at 84:11.

Gess has now scored in five straight games and has 10 goals in that stretch. Gess now has 33 points on the year which is tied for third most in a single season in program history.

Simpson had the only chance to score in the final minutes of regulation as they had a corner in the final two minutes of play but was never able to get a shot on frame.                  

Simpson had a pair of shots on goal in the first 10-minute OT period but the Cobbers had the best chance in either extra session when freshman Casey Haldis hit the crossbar midway through the second overtime.

Concordia was outshot 25-12 in the game in total shots while shots on goal were 10-4 in favor of the Storm. Weaver had four shots while Haldis added three to lead the CC offense.

Freshman Noah Sahr started in goal for Concordia and played the first half. He made four saves. Keith Sullivan finished off the second half and OT periods and also made four stops.

UP NEXT: Concordia will return to MIAC action when they host St. Thomas on Wednesday, Oct. 16 at 3:30 p.m. The Tommies are 6-3-3 overall but are on top of the MIAC standings with a 5-1-0 record.  

T1. 42 - Peter Curry (16g 10a) - 1994
T1. 42 - Riley McGlynn (16g 10a) - 2010
T3. 33 - Todd Hashbarger (8g 17a) - 1997
T3. 33 - Mike Hashbarger (11g 11a) - 1993
T3. 33 - Sam Gess (14g 5a) – 2019
5. 32 - Justin Foss (15g 2a) - 2008
T6. 29 - Peter Curry (11g 7a) - 1995
T6. 29 - Chance Buzzell (9g 11a) - 2001
8. 28 - Brian Mahan (8g 12a) - 1995
T9. 27 - Josh Spaulding (11g 5a) - 1999
T9. 27 - Dustin Allard (11g 5a) - 2001
T9. 27 - Todd Hashbarger (9g 9a) - 1996
12. 26 - Todd Hashbarger (8g 10a) - 1995
T13. 25 - Brian Mahan (7g 11a) - 1994
T13. 25 - Riley McGlynn (11g 3a) - 2009
T15. 23 - Eric Singer (8g 7a) - 1999
T15. 23 - Brett Wegleitner (11g 1a) - 2013
T15. 23 - Nate Weaver (9g 5a) - 2019 

T1. 16 - Riley McGlynn - 2010
T1. 16 - Peter Curry - 1994
3. 15 - Justin Foss - 2008
4. 14 - Sam Gess - 2019
T5. 11 - Josh Spaulding - 1999
T5. 11 - Peter Curry - 1995
T5. 11 - Mike Hashbarger - 1993
T5. 11 - Riley McGlynn - 2009
T5. 11 - Dustin Allard - 2001
T5. 11 - Brett Wegleitner - 2013
T10. 9 - Brian Mahan - 1992
T10. 9 - Todd Hashbarger - 1996
T10. 9 - Chance Buzzell - 2001
T10. 9 - Nate Weaver - 2019