Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Isaac Henkemyer-Howe (L) and Andy Gravdahl both  multiple MIAC postseason honors, and Henkemyer-Howe was named the MIAC Rookie of the Year.
Isaac Henkemyer-Howe (L) and Andy Gravdahl both multiple MIAC postseason honors, and Henkemyer-Howe was named the MIAC Rookie of the Year.

Henkemeyer-Howe And Gravdahl Earn Multiple MIAC Postseason Honors

MOORHEAD, Minn. (5/18/22)--- Isaac Henkemeyer-Howe and Andy Gravdahl were rewarded for helping Concordia earn a spot in the league playoffs as both players earned multiple MIAC postseason honors as voted on by the conference coaches.

Both Henkemeyer-Howe and Gravdahl were named to the MIAC All-Conference Team. In addition to All-Conference honors, Henkemeyer-Howe was named the MIAC Rookie of the Year, while Gravdahl received MIAC All-Defensive Team honors.

Senior Jack Naugle was selected by Concordia as the team's representative on the All-MIAC Sportsmanship Team for the second straight season.

| Complete List of 2022 MIAC Postseason Award Winners |

The three players helped the Cobbers earn a spot in the 4-team conference playoffs for the first time since 2015. Concordia went 10-10 in league play and was 15-16 in all games.

Henkemeyer-Howe becomes only the second Cobber player to be named the MIAC Rookie of the Year since the league started the award in 2009. Gravdahl was the other CC player to receive the honor, when he won the award in 2019. 

Henkemeyer-Howe receives conference first-year honors for the second straight sport season. He was also named to the MIAC All-Rookie Team for men's hockey.

Gravdahl earns MIAC All-Defensive Team honors for the second straight season. He is only the second Cobber player to earn back-to-back All Defensive Team honors since Brian Guler did it in 2012 and 2013.

Henkemeyer-Howe played in 18 of the team's 20 conference games and hit .344. He tied for the team lead in home runs and was second in hits (21), RBI (12) and slugging percentage (.508).

Henkemeyer-Howe had at least one hit in 14 MIAC games, and had five multiple-hit games during the conference season. His top two games came against St. Olaf and Macalester when he posted 3-hit games. Henkemeyer-Howe went 3-for-5 in Game 2 against the Oles which was part of a 5-for-8 series at St. Olaf.

Gravdahl led the team in most offensive categories and finished third in the MIAC in batting with a .431 average in 19 league games. He led the conference in triples with three, and was fourth in on-base percentage at .478 and fifth in total hits with 31.

Gravdahl was only held without a hit in conference play on one occasion. He finished the league season with a 17-game hit streak. Gravdahl had eight multiple-hit games in MIAC play, and had four contests where he produced at least three hits. His top conference performance came in the second game against Carleton when he went 4-for-4 with three runs scored, two doubles and two walks.       

Gravdahl, who was the top center fielder in the MIAC in 2022, earned his second straight All-Defensive honor by playing errorless baseball during the league season. He had 41 chances and didn't commit a miscue. He has now played two straight seasons without making an error. He had 70 chances a year ago without an error, and has now handled 111 chances without committing an error.               

Past MIAC Award Winners

MIAC All-Conference
2021 - Matt Gruber, Ty Syverson
2019 - Cole Christensen, Ty Syverson, Austin Ver Steeg
2018 - Austin Ver Steeg
2017 - Nate Hoeft, Cody Rahman
2016 - Tim Carlson, Alex Sandahl
2015 - Nick Bornhauser, Eric Carlsen, Bryce Feia, Aaron Green, Devin Johnson
2014 - Jordan Gefroh
2013 - Devin Johnson, Jackson Meland, Michael Olson
2012 - Michael Olson, Braden Rahman
2011 - Michael Carlson
2010 - Adam Johnson, Jake Krause, Dan Wackler
2009 - Kyle Johnson, Scott Schumacher
2008 - Adam Johnson, Kyle Johnson, Scott Schumacher
2007 - Kyle Johnson, Brian Knoblauch
2006 - Billy DeNet, Brian Schumacher, Blake Trenbeath
2005 - Bryant Bergeson, Billy DeNet, Nick Esala, Bryan Romsa, Brian Scumacher
2004 - Ryan Hebrink, Jeremy Hinderks, Luther Kangas
2003 - Derek Dormanen, Ryan Hebrink, Jeremy Hinderks
2002 - Derek Dormanen, Chad Felstul
2001 - Derek Dormanen, Chad Felstul, Jesse Rostad
2000 - Clayton Horgen
1999 - David Feir, Clayton Horgen
1998 - David Feir, Dan Geizler
1997 - Scott DeBrito, Noah Johnson
1996 - Joe Cuchna, Jeremy Holm, Stuart Lang, Randy Razidlo, Jeff Spanier
1995 - Chris Coste, Scott DeBrito, Jeremy Holm, Jeremy Kovash, Ron Litzau, Greg Salvevold
1994 - Clark Christiansen, Chris Coste
1993 - Chris Coste, Chris Marsden, Gary Ullrich
1992 - Dan Holgate, Brad Keenan, Chris Marsden, Jeff Morken
1991 - Wade Beavers, Jeff Morken
1990 - Mike Klindt 
1989 - Terry Horan, Doug Toivonen
1988 - Scott Oeffling
1987 - Colin Kerslake
1986 - Eric Jacobson, Doug Kovash, John Riewer, Greg Toivonen
1985 - Tim Anderson, Ray Brekke, Kent Kuball, Joel Smith, Greg Toivonen
1984 - Howard Berglund, Kent Kuball, Mark Nelson
1983 - Stephen Anderson, Brent Helmeke, Mark Nelson
1982 - Dan Olson
1981 - Howard Berglund, Mark Redemske
1980 - Bryon Novotny, Tom Simon, Bob Wentzel
1979 - Steve Atchison 
1977 - Kris Gulsvig
1970 - Tom Cummings, Kerry Knoff
1969 - Joe Langemo
1968 - Joe Langemo, Tim Braaten

MIAC All-Defensive Team
2021 - Andy Gravdahl
2019 - Grant Toivonen
2015 - Phil Kuball
2013 - Brian Guler
2012 - Brian Guler, Michael Olson
2011 - Dan Wackler, Ben Sand
2010 - Jake Krause, Josh Dahlke

MIAC Rookie of the Year
2019 - Andy Gravdahl